An idea of establishing an ASEAN-ROK Cyber University (first name of the project) was initiated by Dr. Surin Pituswan, former Secretary General of ASEAN, at the 20th Anniversary of ASEAN-the Republic of Korea (ROK) in June 2009 with the purpose of promoting education cooperation and people-to-people exchange. This suggestion was agreed at the 12th ASEAN-ROK Summit on 24 October 2009 in Cha-am Hua Hin, Thailand.

In January 2011, Ministry of Education (MOE), ROK had organised the Senior Officials Meeting (SOM) for Establishing ASEAN-Korea Cyber University in Seoul to review the master plan for an establishment of the ASEAN Cyber University. and agreed in principle to the three phases’ roadmap for CLMV:

  •  CLMV capacity enhancement: Pilot operation for e-learning centers in CLMV countries (March 2011-June 2012);
  •  Establishment of ASEAN-ROK Cyber University: Establishing ASEAN e-learning portal and Korea-CLMV Curriculum Management (July 2012 – December 2014); and
  • Expansion of ASEAN-ROK Cyber University: Emergence as a hub university in Korea and ASEAN through e-learning and research collaboration (January 2015).


The ROK and CLMV countries agreed in principle that the e-learning centers will be established in the following institutions:

  • Cambodia: Institute Technology of Cambodia (ITC)
  • Laos: National University of Laos (NUOL)
  • Myanmar: University Technology (UT)
  • Viet Nam: Hanoi University of Science and Technology (HUST)


In preparation for an establishment of the ASEAN Cyber University (ACU), the ACU Secretariat in consultation with MOE, ROK had set up the 2 tiers of ACU membership at Ministerial and Institutional levels , which at each level, composes of the Ministries responsible for ICT and members of the hub institutions in CLMV and the AUN Secretariat respectively.

The member institutions will be invited to the Steering Committee Meeting, which organises bi-annually in rotation among the ASEAN Member States and Korea.